
What is a drivers abstract in Toronto?
It is your uncertified 3-year Ontario driver record. Ontario describes a driver record as a document with information about a driver and their licence, and says it is also called an abstract.
There is no Toronto version. The Ministry of Transportation (MTO) keeps one driving record per licence for the whole province, so “drivers abstract Toronto”, “Toronto driving record” and “Ontario driver abstract” all describe the same PDF. Your postal code in North York or Etobicoke changes nothing on it.
| Question | Answer |
|---|---|
| What it is | The uncertified 3-year Ontario driver record |
| Who keeps the record | The Ministry of Transportation, for all of Ontario |
| What it covers | Convictions, suspensions and reinstatements from the past 3 years, plus your demerit point total |
| How it arrives | A PDF by email, instantly after payment |
| What you need | Your Ontario licence number, your name as printed on the licence, and an email address |
| Price | $39.99, paid once |
The 3-year record is the most popular Ontario record and the one most people mean when they say “abstract”. It is commonly used for employment, and insurers ask about the same 3-year window of convictions.
How do you get a drivers abstract online in Toronto?
Fill in one short form with your licence number, name and email, pay once, and the PDF lands in your inbox. Most people finish in about a minute, on a laptop or a phone.
Take out your licence card
Your licence number is on the front: 15 characters, one letter followed by 14 digits, printed in groups of five. The letter is the first letter of your last name. Do not confuse it with the 7-digit trillium number on the back. Our licence number guide shows exactly where to look.
Enter your name exactly as it is printed
Use the name on the card, including any middle name, so it matches your licence number. Incorrect details can delay or prevent your order.
Add the email address you check
The record is delivered there as a PDF. Use an inbox you can open right away, especially if a broker or hiring manager is waiting.
Pay once and open your PDF
Checkout is secure and the price is $39.99, paid once. The PDF arrives by email instantly after payment. Occasional delays can occur.
For the full walkthrough, including how to tell which record you were asked for, see how to get a driver abstract in Ontario.
What does a Toronto driving record show?
It shows who you are as a driver, the status of your licence, your current demerit point total and three years of convictions and suspensions. It does not show your address.
On your 3-year record
- Name as it appears on your licence, licence number, date of birth, sex and height
- Licence class and expiry date
- Status, such as licensed, unlicensed or suspended
- Earliest licence date available
- Conditions and endorsements, such as corrective lenses or air brakes
- Your demerit point total
- Highway Traffic Act and Criminal Code convictions from the past 3 years
- Suspensions and reinstatements from the past 3 years
- Active fine suspensions
Not on your 3-year record
- Your home address
- Beginner driver education course completion
- Expired medical suspensions
- Collisions (they are not among the listed contents)
- Insurance claims and policy history
- Red light camera and speed camera tickets
- Parking tickets (they are not reported to your driving record)
- 3 yearsof convictions and suspensions
- 2 yearsdemerit points count from the offence date
- 15characters in an Ontario licence number
Points and convictions run on different clocks. Demerit points count for two years from the date of the offence, while the conviction stays listed for the three-year window. So a ticket can still be on your record after its points have stopped counting. The guide to what is on an Ontario driver abstract goes through every field.
Which Toronto tickets end up on your driving record?
Tickets a police officer writes to you as the driver become convictions on your record once you pay them, are found guilty, or let the deadline on the ticket pass without responding. Camera tickets in Toronto go to the vehicle owner and stay off the driving record, and parking tickets are not reported to your driving record.
| Ticket | On your driving record? | Demerit points |
|---|---|---|
| Police speeding ticket, 16 to 29 km/h over (the Gardiner, the DVP, the 401) | Yes, as a conviction | 3 |
| Police speeding ticket, 30 to 49 km/h over | Yes, as a conviction | 4 |
| Police ticket for running a red light | Yes, as a conviction | 3 |
| Holding or using a phone while driving, first conviction (full licence) | Yes, plus a 3-day suspension | 3 |
| Failing to yield to a pedestrian | Yes, as a conviction | 4 |
| The "Toronto left" (jumping a left turn the moment the light turns green, before oncoming traffic can go) | Yes, if convicted of stunt driving | 6 |
| Red light camera ticket (City of Toronto) | No, it is an administrative penalty to the owner | None |
| Speed camera ticket | No, and none have been issued since November 14, 2025 | None |
| Toronto parking ticket | No, parking by-law convictions are not reported to the record | None |
| Unpaid Highway 407 ETR tolls | Not a driving conviction; the remedy is plate denial | None |
The “Toronto left” surprises people. Ontario lists it (turning left on a fresh green ahead of oncoming traffic) as a form of stunt driving, which brings an immediate 30-day roadside licence suspension and a 14-day vehicle impoundment, and 6 demerit points on conviction. The stunt driving guide covers the rest.
Camera tickets work differently. Toronto moved red light camera tickets to an administrative penalty system on January 20, 2025. The usual total is $328.25, it goes to the registered owner no matter who was driving, and no one’s driving record is affected. Leave it unpaid and you can be refused a licence plate renewal, but your licence and your abstract stay untouched.
Parking is the same story. In Toronto you have 15 days from the date a parking violation is issued to pay or dispute it. After that come an overdue notice, a late fee from day 31, a notice of default and finally plate denial. Parking tickets are not reported to your driving record and carry no demerit points. The full breakdown is in camera, parking and 407 tickets, and the speeding ticket guide covers the tickets that do count.
Do Toronto insurance brokers ask for your drivers abstract?
Often, yes. The standard Ontario auto insurance application asks for every conviction you and any listed driver had in the last 3 years, which is exactly the window the 3-year record covers.
Shopping around at renewal is worth doing in the GTA: Ontario’s insurance regulator, FSRA, notes that premiums for the same driver can differ from one company to another. Your driving record is one of the things every insurer prices. FSRA lists previous accidents, how long you have been licensed, driver training, speeding tickets and convictions, and says the better the record, the lower the premium.
| Question on the application | Look-back period |
|---|---|
| Convictions for you and listed drivers | Last 3 years |
| Accidents or claims | Last 6 years |
| Licence or vehicle permit suspended or cancelled in the household | Last 6 years |
| A policy cancelled by an insurer | Last 3 years |
Your abstract answers the conviction question and shows your own suspensions from the past 3 years. Claims are different: they sit in AutoPlus, an insurance history database fed by insurers, not in your driving record. Our guide to the driver abstract versus AutoPlus explains which one shows what, and how far back insurers check covers the timelines.
Pulling your own record first means the quote is built on facts, not on your memory of a ticket from two winters ago. The driver abstract for insurance page goes deeper.
Which GTA jobs, apps and car-share services ask for a driving record?
Any role that puts you behind the wheel will usually ask, and so will many ride, delivery and vehicle-sharing platforms. The request tends to arrive late in the process, with a short deadline attached.
Delivery, courier and trades
- Company vehicles, service vans and courier routes across the GTA
- Usually the 3-year driver record
- Many employers want a record issued within the last 30 days
Rideshare, delivery apps and vehicle-for-hire
- App-based ride and food delivery sign-ups
- Taxi, limousine and other vehicle-for-hire applications
- Check the current document list with whoever is licensing you
GTA trucking and buses
- Carriers along the 401 and 427 corridors and around Pearson
- Often the five-year CVOR Driver Abstract, sometimes both records
- MTO tells carriers to check a driver abstract at hiring and at least yearly
For office and warehouse roles with occasional driving, the 3-year record is almost always what is wanted. See driver abstracts for employment for what employers look at, and the guides for rideshare and delivery drivers and taxi, limo and school bus drivers.
Commercial drivers have a second record to think about. If you drive a truck over 4,500 kg or a bus that seats 10 or more passengers, your carrier may ask for the CVOR Driver Abstract, which covers up to five years of your commercial driving in Ontario. The truck driver guide explains when you need which.
Plenty of downtown and midtown residents do not own a car at all. They rent for a weekend or use car-share by the hour, and rental and car-share companies can ask about your driving history before they hand over keys. The car rental guide covers what to expect.
New to Toronto? How does your driving record start?
Your Ontario driving record starts with your Ontario licence. Before that you drive on your home licence for a limited time, and insurers look at your history from home.
| Rule | What it means for you |
|---|---|
| Driving on a licence from home | A valid licence from another province or country can be used for 60 days after you become a resident |
| Licence exchange | Ontario has exchange agreements with every Canadian province and territory, the United States and a list of countries |
| Primary residence declaration | Since May 11, 2026, G and M applicants declare that Ontario is their primary residence and that their presence in Canada is legal |
| Points from elsewhere | A new resident who arrives with points has them reduced to 7 on a full licence (if 8 or more) or 4 on a novice licence (if 5 or more) |
| Insurance experience | If you have been licensed in Canada less than 6 years, insurers can recognize driving experience from other countries with proof attached |
Many people land at Pearson, find an apartment and then discover that a job offer or an insurance quote needs an Ontario record. Once you hold an Ontario licence you have a licence number, and with it you can order your record. If you still need a road test, expect to book it at a DriveTest centre. The record itself needs no trip anywhere: it comes by email.
Read the newcomer’s guide to the Ontario driver abstract for how the earliest licence date on your record works after an exchange.
Can you order a drivers abstract from anywhere in the GTA?
Yes. The order is entirely online, so it works the same in downtown Toronto as it does in Mississauga, Brampton, Vaughan or Markham.
Driving records are provincial, so a commuter in Scarborough, a student in North York and a contractor in Etobicoke all receive the same document. The same goes for Richmond Hill, Oakville, Pickering and beyond. You do not need an Ontario mailing address either: the form asks for your licence number, name and email, which is why drivers who have left the province still use it. See moving out of Ontario for that case.
My Drivers Abstract is run by a Canadian-owned company based in Toronto. It is an independent service, not a government office, and it is not affiliated with the Government of Ontario.
Ordering for someone else, such as a driver you employ or a family member? The guide to ordering another driver’s abstract covers what you need.
Which version do you need, and how recent should it be?
The uncertified 3-year record meets most people’s needs, and many Toronto insurers, employers and platforms ask for a recent copy. A certified copy with a Ministry seal is typically needed only for legal reasons.
Uncertified 3-year record
- Meets most people’s needs
- Used for jobs, insurance quotes and app sign-ups
- A PDF by email you can forward to anyone
Certified record
- Carries a seal from the Ministry of Transportation
- Typically required only for legal reasons
- Ask first if a lawyer or court requested it
An abstract has no expiry date. It shows your record as of the day it was issued, and many insurers and employers ask for one issued within the last 30 days. If yours is older, expect to send a new one. See how long a drivers abstract is valid and certified versus uncertified records.
If the request just says “driver abstract” with no other detail, the 3-year driver record is the one to send.
Frequently asked questions
Is a Toronto drivers abstract different from an Ontario one?
No. Driving records are kept provincially by the Ministry of Transportation, not by the City of Toronto, so a driver in Scarborough gets the same 3-year Ontario driver record as a driver in Ottawa or Thunder Bay.
Do I have to go to an office in Toronto to get my driving record?
No. You can order the 3-year record online from home, work or your phone, and the PDF arrives by email instantly after payment. Nobody needs to visit an office.
Will a Toronto red light camera ticket show on my abstract?
No. Since January 20, 2025, Toronto handles red light camera tickets as administrative penalties sent to the vehicle owner. They carry no demerit points and do not go on anyone’s driving record.
Do Toronto parking tickets go on my driving record?
Parking tickets are not reported to your driving record and carry no demerit points. An unpaid Toronto parking ticket can stop your licence plate from being renewed instead.
Can I order my drivers abstract at night or on a weekend?
Yes. The order form is online at any hour, and the PDF arrives by email instantly after payment. Occasional delays can occur, so leave a little room if a deadline is close.
Can my Toronto broker or employer order my record for me?
Ontario lets anyone order the 3-year driver record if they provide the driver’s licence number. In practice many brokers and employers ask you to send them a current copy.
I just moved to Toronto from another country. Can I get an Ontario abstract?
An Ontario driver record is tied to an Ontario licence number, so you can order one once you hold an Ontario licence. If you have been licensed in Canada for less than 6 years, insurers can recognize driving experience from other countries when you attach proof of your previous licensing and insurance.
Does my Toronto driving record show accidents?
Collisions are not among the listed contents of the 3-year driver record. It shows convictions, suspensions, reinstatements and your demerit point total. Insurers see claims through a separate insurance history database.
How much is a drivers abstract in Toronto?
$39.99, paid once. The price is the same wherever you are in Toronto, the GTA or the rest of Ontario.
Is My Drivers Abstract a government service?
No. My Drivers Abstract is an independent online service run by a Canadian-owned company based in Toronto. It is not the Government of Ontario or the Ministry of Transportation, and it is not affiliated with them.
Sources: Record contents follow the Ministry of Transportation’s description of the 3-year driver record. Demerit points follow the Highway Traffic Act and Ontario Regulation 339/94 (Demerit Point System); stunt driving rules follow Highway Traffic Act section 172 and Ontario Regulation 455/07. Toronto camera and parking timelines follow City of Toronto rules and Ontario Regulation 355/22. Insurance questions follow the standard Ontario Application for Automobile Insurance (OAF 1) and FSRA consumer guidance. New resident rules follow the Ministry of Transportation. Recency expectations are typical requests, not legal rules.