3-year driver record
- The record people mean by drivers abstract
- Licence status, class and expiry date
- Your demerit point total
- Convictions, suspensions and reinstatements from the past 3 years
- For insurance, jobs, rideshare and rentals
One quick form. One-time $39.99 fee. Your 3-year Ontario driving record delivered instantly to your inbox.
Get my driver abstract $39.99Secure one-time payment. No subscription. Available across Ontario.
Trusted By


Three quick steps. Your record arrives by email.
Enter your name, Ontario licence number and delivery email. It takes about a minute, and no account is needed.
Pay once through Stripe’s secure checkout. No account and no subscription.
Your driving abstract arrives as a PDF, ready to save, print or forward to an insurer or employer.
The short answer, and every other name it goes by.
An Ontario drivers abstract, also called your Ontario driving record, is the uncertified 3-year driver record kept by the Ministry of Transportation (MTO): your licence status and class, your demerit point total, and any convictions, suspensions and reinstatements from the past three years. You can order it online from My Drivers Abstract for $39.99 and get the PDF by email instantly.
Ontario’s own name for the document is a driver record, and the province notes it is also called an abstract. Everyone else uses whichever name they learned first. A broker writes driver’s abstract, an HR team writes driving record, and a form built for several provinces may say MVR, short for motor vehicle record.
A request usually means a different record when it says certified, asks for five or more years of history, or asks for your licence history. Those are covered under which record you need.
It is not a criminal record check or your insurance claims history. It is a dated snapshot of your licence and your last three years on record, as of the day it is issued, which is why many insurers and employers ask for a recent one.
$39.99, paid once, for the uncertified 3-year driver record as a PDF by email.
| Fact | Details |
|---|---|
| Document | The uncertified 3-year Ontario driver record, kept by the Ministry of Transportation (MTO) |
| Also called | Drivers abstract, driver's abstract, driving abstract, driving record, driver record, 3-year statement of driving record, MTO abstract, MVR |
| Period covered | The past three years of convictions, suspensions and reinstatements, plus your current demerit point total |
| What it shows | Name, licence number, date of birth, sex, height, licence class, expiry date, licence status, earliest licence date available, conditions and endorsements, demerit point total, active fine suspensions, and Highway Traffic Act and Criminal Code convictions, suspensions and reinstatements |
| What it does not show | Your address, beginner driver education completion, expired medical suspensions, insurance claims, and parking tickets, which are not reported to your driving record |
| Format | PDF, ready to save, print or forward |
| Delivery | By email, instantly after payment. Occasional delays can occur. |
| What you need to order | Your name exactly as it appears on your licence, your 15-character Ontario licence number and an email address |
| Price | $39.99, paid once. No account and no subscription. |
| Often requested by | Employers, auto insurers and brokers, and some rideshare, delivery, car rental and volunteer programs |
| Certified? | No. Uncertified records meet most people's needs. Certified copies carry a Ministry seal and are typically needed only for legal matters. |
| Who provides this service | My Drivers Abstract, an independent, Canadian-owned Ontario business. Not a government agency. |
All you need is your licence card and an email address.
Order your drivers abstract from a phone or a computer, in six steps.
Your licence number is printed on the front of the card. It is 15 characters long, one letter followed by 14 numbers, shown in groups of five like A1234-56789-01234. The letter is the first letter of your last name. Do not confuse it with the 7-digit number on the back of the card.
Can’t spot it? Here is where to find your Ontario licence number.
Type your first name, any middle name and your last name the way your licence spells them, then the 15-character number. Dashes are optional. Incorrect details can delay your order, so compare each character with the card before you continue.
This is where your record will be delivered. Use an inbox you can open right away, and check the spelling before you continue.
The price is $39.99, paid once through secure checkout. Nothing renews, and there is nothing to cancel later.
Your 3-year Ontario driver record arrives in your inbox as a PDF instantly after payment. Occasional delays can occur. If you do not see it, check your spam or junk folder first.
Forward the PDF to your insurer, broker, employer or platform, or print it. Keep a copy, because one recent record can cover more than one application.

Want more detail on each field? Read how to get a drivers abstract in Ontario.
Your licence details, your demerit point total, and three years of convictions, suspensions and reinstatements.
Here is everything the 3-year record lists, and what it leaves out.

Demerit points count for two years from the date of the offence. A conviction stays on your 3-year record for as long as it falls inside the record’s three-year window. That is why an abstract can show a conviction with zero current points.
Points are added only on conviction, not when the ticket is written. Paying a ticket counts as a conviction, so paying one for a point-carrying offence adds the points.
Line-by-line detail is in what shows on a drivers abstract and how to read your drivers abstract.
Unpaid 407 ETR tolls are different: they can block your plate renewal but carry no points. See camera, parking and 407 tickets on your record.
Sources: Record contents follow the Ministry of Transportation’s description of the 3-year driver record. Point timing follows Ontario Regulation 339/94 and the Provincial Offences Act.
The surest way to know what yours shows is to read it.
Seven records people mix up, and the two you can order here.
Most people need the uncertified 3-year driver record. Commercial drivers applying to a carrier may be asked for the CVOR Driver Abstract as well, or instead. The others exist for narrower purposes, and a request will name them if that is what it wants.
| Record | What it covers | Usually asked for by | Order here? |
|---|---|---|---|
| Uncertified 3-year driver record (the drivers abstract) | Licence details and status, demerit point total, and convictions, suspensions and reinstatements from the past three years | Employers, insurers and brokers, and some rideshare, delivery and rental companies | Yes, $39.99 |
| CVOR Driver Abstract | Up to five years of commercial driving in Ontario: convictions, inspections, and collisions linked to a safety-related conviction, plus licence status, class, conditions and medical due date | Trucking companies, bus operators and other commercial carriers | Yes, $39.99 |
| Certified driver record | A driver record that carries a Ministry of Transportation seal | Mostly legal matters | No |
| Driver's licence history | Licence renewals, replacements and class changes, and beginner driver education completion. No convictions and no demerit points | Vehicle insurers | No |
| CVOR Level 1 and Level 2 abstracts | A carrier's safety record, meaning the company rather than one driver: a two-year summary, with five years of event detail on Level 2 | Carriers reviewing their own record, and people checking a carrier | No |
| Longer-term records (5-year, extended, complete) | More history for legal purposes, such as five years of Criminal Code convictions, or a complete record that includes collisions | Legal matters, or anyone who needs a longer period | No |
| Police record check | A search of police records. It is not a driving record | Employers and volunteer organizations, for a different purpose | No |
Still unsure? Ontario driver record types compared has more on each one, certified versus uncertified records covers the seal question, and CVOR Level 1 vs Level 2 explains the carrier abstracts. Commercial drivers can read about the Ontario CVOR Driver Abstract before ordering.
Where the warning letters and suspensions start.
A fully licensed Ontario driver is suspended for 30 days on reaching 15 demerit points, and a novice driver (G1, G2, M1 or M2) for 60 days on reaching 9. Points are added only on conviction and count for two years from the offence date.
Those suspension lengths are for a first demerit suspension. A later one, for an offence committed within two years after the last one ended, lasts six months.
Tickets from outside Ontario can count too. Some convictions in other provinces and territories, New York and Michigan, such as speeding, careless driving and failing to obey a stop sign or signal light, add points as if the offence happened here. See out-of-province and US tickets, and for why a conviction can outlast its points, the two clocks above.
| Offence | Demerit points |
|---|---|
| Speeding 1 to 15 km/h over the limit | 0 (still a conviction with a fine) |
| Speeding 16 to 29 km/h over | 3 |
| Speeding 30 to 49 km/h over | 4 |
| Speeding 50 km/h or more over | 6 |
| Failing to remain at the scene of a collision | 7 |
| Failing to stop for police | 7 |
| Careless driving | 6 |
| Racing or stunt driving | 6 |
| Failing to stop for a school bus | 6 |
| Following too closely | 4 |
| Failing to yield to a pedestrian, or a pedestrian crossover offence | 4 |
| Handheld phone or device while driving, first conviction | 3 and a 3-day suspension. Novice: no points, a 30-day suspension |
| Running a red light or a stop sign (ticket from a police officer) | 3 |
| Failing to yield the right of way | 3 |
| Driver not wearing a seat belt properly | 2 |
| Failing to signal | 2 |
Every offence and its points are in the Ontario demerit points chart. To find your own total, read how to check your demerit points, or start with how Ontario demerit points work.
Sources: Points and thresholds follow Ontario Regulation 339/94 (Demerit Point System) under the Highway Traffic Act.
The requests that send most people here.
Insurers, employers, rideshare and delivery platforms, commercial carriers and some rental and volunteer programs ask for it, because it shows your licence status and recent convictions in one standard document. Ontario itself names jobs, employer screening, vehicle insurance and licence applications in other provinces and countries as reasons to need one.
The standard Ontario auto insurance application asks for every conviction from the last three years, the same window your abstract covers.
What insurers checkMany employers check your licence class, status and recent convictions before you start driving for them.
What employers look forRideshare and delivery platforms may check your driving history when you sign up to drive.
Uber and Lyft record requirementsMinistry guidance tells carriers to get a driver abstract when they hire and at least once a year after that. Some also ask for the five-year CVOR Driver Abstract.
Records for truck driversSome rental companies ask for a recent record before they hand over the keys.
What rental companies ask forSome charities, schools and community programs that rely on volunteer drivers ask for a recent record.
Records for volunteer driversA new licence still has a record, and it shows the earliest licence date available.
Your record as a newcomerOntario names applying for a licence in another province, territory or country as one reason to need your record. Read yours before you go.
Taking your record to a new provinceSee the same record an insurer or employer would order, before they do. It also lists any active suspension for an unpaid fine.
Check your own record firstAn independent Canadian service: one short form, one price paid once, and your PDF by email instantly.
Your record arrives in your inbox instantly after payment, ready to save, print or forward.
Name, licence number and email. Nothing to upload.
Nothing to sign up for and nothing to cancel. One payment per record.
$39.99, paid once through secure checkout. We never sell personal information.
Order from Windsor to Ottawa, at any hour, and send the PDF wherever it needs to go.
Questions go to a real person at info@mydriversabstract.ca. Include your order reference and we take it from there.
Duplicate charges and errors on our side are reviewed for a refund or reprocessing. Read the refund policy.
An independent, Canadian-owned Ontario company. Not a government agency. About us.
Ready when you are.
All it takes is your licence card.
The questions Ontario drivers ask most, answered plainly.
Ordering
Order it online at My Drivers Abstract for $39.99: fill in one short form with your name, licence number and email address, and pay once through secure checkout. Your 3-year driver record arrives as a PDF by email instantly after payment.
The guide to getting a drivers abstract in Ontario covers each field in more detail.
At My Drivers Abstract it costs $39.99, paid once, for the uncertified 3-year Ontario driver record delivered as a PDF by email. It is a one-time payment, not a subscription.
The drivers abstract cost guide has more on pricing.
No. The 3-year Ontario driver record has no free version. Your AutoPlus report is free to get, but it is your insurance policy and claims history, not a driving record, so it does not answer a request for your drivers abstract.
More in our guide to free drivers abstracts in Ontario.
Yes. Your driving record, the drivers abstract, can be ordered entirely online: one short form, one secure payment and the PDF in your inbox. It works the same from Toronto, Ottawa, Hamilton, London or anywhere else in Ontario, because driving records are kept by the province, not by city.
Ordering from Toronto? See drivers abstract Toronto.
Your name exactly as it appears on your Ontario licence, the 15-character licence number from the front of the card, and an email address for delivery. There is no account to create and nothing to upload.
Here is where to find your Ontario licence number on the card.
Your details are used to process and deliver your order, and we never sell personal information. Payment is taken once through a secure checkout.
The full privacy policy is public.
Yes. Ontario lets anyone order a 3-year driver record if they provide the driver's licence number. You need the driver's name exactly as it appears on their licence and their 15-character licence number, and by ordering here you confirm you are legally permitted to request that record.
See the terms of service. Hiring? Requesting records as an employer covers the basics.
No. My Drivers Abstract is an independent online service run by a Canadian-owned Ontario company. It is not a government agency and is not affiliated with the Government of Ontario or the Ministry of Transportation.
More on the about page.
The record
It is the standard Ontario driver record, the one most requests mean. "3 year" is how far back it lists convictions, suspensions and reinstatements, and "uncertified" means it carries no Ministry seal. Uncertified records meet most people's needs, including insurance and employment.
Yes, in almost every request. Ontario calls the document a driver record and notes that it is also called an abstract, so an Ontario driving record, a driver record, a driver's abstract and an MVR usually all mean the same uncertified 3-year record.
If a form says MVR, see what an MVR is in Ontario.
Uncertified, in most cases. Uncertified records meet most people's needs, while certified copies with a Ministry seal are typically needed only for legal matters. If a request says certified, check with the requester before you order.
Certified versus uncertified records sets out the difference.
Three years. Convictions, suspensions and reinstatements older than that are left off, and demerit points count toward your total for only two years from the offence date.
Collisions are not among the 3-year record's listed contents, but a conviction that came out of a collision, such as careless driving, does appear. Insurance claims are kept in a separate insurance history, not on your driving record.
More in do drivers abstracts show accidents and drivers abstract vs AutoPlus.
The standard Ontario auto insurance application asks for every conviction from the last 3 years, the same window your 3-year driver record covers. It also asks about accidents or claims, and about licence suspensions, from the last 6 years.
What insurers look for is in drivers abstract for insurance.
Delivery
The form takes about a minute, and your PDF arrives by email instantly after payment. Occasional delays can occur.
Details in how long a drivers abstract takes.
Yes. Ordering is open 24 hours a day, every day of the year, including holidays, and your PDF arrives by email instantly after payment. Occasional delays can occur.
Check your spam or junk folder first, then confirm the email address you entered was spelled correctly. If it is still missing, email info@mydriversabstract.ca with your order reference. Duplicate charges and errors on our side are reviewed for a refund or reprocessing.
The details are in our refund policy.
The record does not carry an expiry date of its own. It is a dated snapshot, and many insurers and employers ask for a record issued within the last 30 days, so order it close to when you need it.
Points and convictions
Parking tickets are not reported to your driving record, and red light camera tickets go to the vehicle owner with no demerit points. Unpaid ones can block your licence plate renewal instead.
Tolls and speed cameras are covered in camera, parking and 407 tickets.
Yes, for a driving offence such as speeding. Once any part of the fine is unpaid 15 days or more after it is due, it is in default and your licence can be suspended until it is paid. An active fine suspension is listed on your 3-year record, so reading your record is an easy way to spot one.
What to do next is in licence suspended for unpaid fines.
CVOR
A record of up to five years of one driver's commercial driving in Ontario: convictions for safety-related offences, inspections, and collisions linked to a safety-related conviction. It also shows licence status, class, conditions and medical due date, but no demerit point total. It is separate from the CVOR Level 1 and Level 2 abstracts, which describe a carrier.
See the CVOR Driver Abstract page and CVOR Level 1 vs Level 2.
Ontario does issue a separate 5-year driver record (Criminal Code convictions for five years, Highway Traffic Act convictions for three, mailed only), but it is not offered here. The five-year record sold here is the Ontario CVOR Driver Abstract for commercial drivers ($39.99, paid once), which covers only time spent operating commercial vehicles in Ontario. For insurance and most jobs, the 3-year record is the one asked for.
CVOR Driver Abstract versus driver abstract compares the two.
Plain-English guides to the rest of your record.
$39.99, paid once. Your 3-year driving record arrives by email instantly after payment.